Knit n Natter again

The second Saturday of the month means Knit N Natter at Littlehoundales. We really enjoy this group as different people attend every week and everyone is really friendly. Kath hosts it at her home, so this week we went armed with Coca Cola Cupcakes (another Nigella recipe. I think it is in “How to be a domestic goddess” ) to contribute to the refreshment break. Well when I say break I mean running tea buffet really! 🙂

This week I was spoiled for choice as I have so much on the needles. I have found that I get so bereft when I finish something that I like to have lots of things started so I don’t leave a break between projects. Having said that I can’t think that I have finished a whole lot yet!

There was much talk about sock knitting this week, as one of the ladies was having a crash course in sock knitting, using a Sock Kit. The Sock Kits are brilliant and contain everything needed to start knitting “top-down” socks, which I thought was a really good idea.

Personally I have only knitted “toe up” socks using a pattern from Ravelry by Helena Bristow. This is knitted in Bergere de France sock yarn (bought on e-bay), which I have to say is slow going! I only knit this sock while travelling hence it doesn’t get all my attention but even so IT IS SLOW!

I did purchase this week from my favourite LYS – Littlehoundaleknits! I feel I need to say that I do shop in other yarn shops, however I have to say that I love shopping with Kath as she is so attentive and helpful. I have even started “laying away” just like my Nana used to do at Mrs Philipson’s wool shop in my hometown!

This month’s purchase is not for me though. I have taken a gamble and started knitting for baby boys. Neither of my friends, who are expecting babies in May, have revealed the sex of their impending offspring, so I am taking a 50/50 punt on one of them being a boy! Hence buying Milla Mia wool in midnight and fawn to knit a lovely jumper from “The Close Knit Gang”.

knitting pattern

Comments are closed.

