Number 3……

I am supposed to be slogging through my WIPs but meaningful friends keep distracting me with new shiny activities! The latest is crochet. I used to crochet when I was very small. My beloved Nana taught me. She was incredibly talented in many things but her crochet was the thing that made her stand out. She used to crochet dresses for me when I was little and cute (about the time I had no front teeth!) I bet if we looked properly we could find some photos of those lovely creations.

So I have whipped up a couple of basic squares as a practise and I now remember how calming crochet was.

pics to follow – when the sun shines again

My Nana also did amazing things with fine silk thread and very thin hook. Those were the days of the “doily” and the “settee” in need to back and arm protectors,  so she could find uses for her creations. I have been struggling to find a reason to reignite my interest in this talent, because there is no use for this craft is there? Well how wrong I was!

Today I was given a copy of “100 flowers to knit & crochet” by Lesley Stanfield. It id full of incredible flowers and vegetables to create and shows how to utilise them to best effect. The book is beautifully laid out with pages of gorgeous photos and then projects are listed by the difficulty and whether they are knit or crochet. Now I want to knit it all but of course despite having a stash bigger than Boyes, I have nothing that is required for any of the patterns! But I will be having a go at these!

I have also discovered anigurumi, which is the Japanese art of cute, creative crochet. Don’t get me wrong I was vaguely aware of it. But this week I have completely fallen under the spell because of this:

 

All abou Ami

Year of the dragon

 

How beautiful is it! Created by Ami who has a blog all about such things I thought it was just the cutest thing ever.

Then I fell across this site Fresh Stitches through some I follow on Twitter and now have my heart set on the bee and the penguin!

 

Do you begin to get the picture? It is just too distracting out there! I work full-time and have a life, how am I supposed to keep up with all these yarn-envy? Give up sleep? Now there’s a thought……

 

Talking of sleep I thought I would share the pic of my baby blanket as it is an FO!

 

 

Pattern courtesy of Kate Heppell – obviously mine looks nothing like as good as hers! And I will fix the huge hole in the middle before anyone points it out!

The yarn is Drops Karisma from Purl City Yarns and is 100% superwash wool. Perfect for new Mums! But best of all a total steal at £2 per ball.

Leave a Reply

