New Lent – Day 1 – Monday 27th February

In the Christian calendar Lent marks the beginning of a period between Ash Wednesday and Holy Thursday, which is the Thursday before Easter. The traditional purpose of Lent is the penitential preparation of the believer—through prayer, penance, repentance, almsgiving, and self-denial. During Lent, many of the faithful commit to fasting or giving up certain types of luxury as a form of penitence.

These days it normally marks the beginning of giving something up in order to be healthier or less stressed with modern life. There is something uplifting by saying “No I’ve given it up for Lent”.  It is usually food or drink, for example chocolate or wine and lasts for 40 days before then pigging out on a ton of chocolate Easter Eggs which is the way we British celebrate Easter.

Normally Lent runs for more than 40 days as Sundays are regarded as |”mini Easter”  and therefore feasting is allowed. Chris Evans from Radio 2 has been promoting the concept of “New Lent” which starts today – Monday 28th February and runs all the way through to Easter. I agree with this concept as it gave me an extra weekend before giving up my favourite thing – CAKE!

As for my knitting, I have promised that for Lent I will only knit from stash. A bit like my promise to “frog it or finish it”, this is about getting my projects in order. I have so many things that I want to knit, and that I have bought the yarn for, that I need to bring it under control.

So today I am casting on the “on –hold socks” by Wendy D. Johnson. This cute pattern is from my “Toe up Socks in a Box” ‘book’. I love this set of patterns as they are on cute cards and fit perfectly in my sock project bag. The cards remind me of recipe cards that my Mum had in the 70’s, so have a slightly retro feel.

The yarn is “Twistle” from The Yarn Yard. The colourway is “4173”, but reminds me of “Gingerbread”. (That could be because I am on Day 1 of cake withdrawal!) The yarn is lovely to work with and has a high twist. It is 80% Blue-faced Leicester and 20% nylon, which is my favourite recipe for sock yarn, but the twist adds more interested and seems to bulk it out slightly. I am looking forward to these and have an inckling where they will be going when finished…..

The project bag is from “Nics Knots” in my favourite Dr Who fabric. This is a large size so has been used for shawls and scarves as it can accommodate a lot of knitted fabric. Nic has recently set up her own shop after initially selling through Etsy, so check out her lovely hand made bags if you are in need of something special. I am always grateful to receive one of Nic’s bags!

2 Comments

  1. Pauline hughes

    I hope you are knitting them in a size 6 🙂

  2. I’m loving new Lent! Lou came to tell me that her and Jack had slipped up with their lent tasks on Sunday morning-not going on the computer before I got up. She was really upset with herself until I told her about New Lent. She now loves Chris (H)Evans even more than she did before 😉
    I’m loving your knitting task. I should do that. I have serious startitis at the moment.

Leave a Reply

