All about the ribbing

Spring has most definitely sprung here in the Yorkshire Wolds. The clocks changed this weekend so we are officially in British Summertime, which means we Brits no longer go to work in the dark and come home again in the dark. We get the time to enjoy some daylight and at the moment that means unseasonably warm weather and some sunshine. It always makes me feel better!

This “joie de vivre” has caused a mild case of startitus in my household. I have cast on 2 new projects – both with stash yarn I hasten to add.

One is the Happiness beret from the Louisa Harding book “Three Graces” which is knitted in “Grace” and “Grace Beaded”. I have chosen to use a dusky pink and a beaded purple.

I have also case on a cardigan for myself in another Louisa Harding yarn “Albero” in Cherry Red. I had planned to use this yarn to knit “Cria”,a pattern from my “Little Red in the City” book, but when I knitted a swatch I didn’t like how it looked and Ysolda Teague specified that the yarn used should be “drapey” and this definitely wasn’t. Instead I trawled Ravelry to find a pattern that had used this yarn and where the knitter was happy with the result. I have opted for the “Creature Comforts” cardigan by Madeline Tosh. which has a really interesting pattern down the back and a loose fitting sweater. I haven’t yet knitted myself a large garment and as my recent projects will testify I am not the strongest at “finishing” garments.

I have also been working on the “Filip” tank this weekend, so in this corner of the universe it has been all about 2 x 2 ribbing! All three projects require ribbing at the start or finish, but I am going to persevere and push on through!

Leave a Reply

