Spring is in the air!

The weather in the UK has been unseasonably warm recently, so we have been slightly distracted in our household. Our new obsession is ……gardening!

I have had my name on the waiting list for an allotment with the local council for about 18 months. I wasn’t holding out much hope because when I registered the Deputy Clerk laughingly said “You’ll probably be dead before you get to the top of the list!” So it was a bit of a shock to hear from them that I had reached the top.

Due to a spike in demand the town council had taken the decision that in future allotments that became available would be split in two in order to respond to demand. So I was offered a half plot and was very grateful to get one. Even when she said it was “in a bit of a mess” I was not fazed.

She wasn’t joking about the mess though!

Somewhere under there are some gooseberry bushes!

But we had a bash and Mini-me and I worked hard to try and clear the space. I wasn’t even going to be precious and resorted to using weed killer to clear the plot. After a couple of hard days we began to make some in roads.

We even found that gooseberry bush!

However once we had cleared the ground it was easier to see the lay of the land so to speak. The plot is in the shadow of a large horse chestnut tree and it became obvious that about 25% of the plot was going to be in deep shade. This coupled with an expected drought this summer would not be the best start for an amateur like me!

So I went back to discuss it and suggested that perhaps this plot didn’t lend itself to being split up. The shaded part would be a perfect spot for someone to put their shed and storage area as long as they weren’t giving up a quarter of their total growing space!

Instead I was given a recently vacated plot, which had obviously been well looked after and requires a moderate amount of work to begin planting. So once again I am planning and purchasing for this new adventure!

We spent some time on Saturday and Sunday beginning to prepare and plan the beds for the growing season. Luckily the weather was glorious, so I was able to replace the wood on 2 of the raised beds.

Mini-me has already planted this with shallots, Early Nantes carrot and spring onion seeds.

2 Comments

  1. Glad you figured out the shade thing before you’d put too much time into that plot. Best of luck for this growing season!

  2. It is good that you were able to end up with a workable plot. Have a good growing season.

Leave a Reply

